Canadian Bicentennial Visiting Professors at Yale

By embedding the “Canadian Bicentennial Visiting Scholar” in a larger community of scholars and students at the MacMillan Center and the host department, we hope to amplify the impact of our very small local Canadian Studies resources.  There are also some small additional program funds available to ensure a strong role for the host unit or others in advancing understanding of Canada in various contexts.  The Canadian Bicentennial Visiting Scholar Fund provides funding to invite a professor to sustain curricular offerings and intellectual attention on Canada and Canadian Studies at Yale.  They may be junior or senior level.  The nominee must be Canadian and, ideally, be someone who specializes in Canadian Studies or Canada in a comparative or international context.  Normally, the scholar joins us for a full academic year and teaches one course each term. 

2022 Spring: Kent McNeil, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University

2021-2022: W. Andy Knight,  Department of Political Science, University of Alberta

2019-2020: Jocelyn Létourneau Department of History, Canada Research Chair in Contemporary Political History and Economy in Quebec, Université Laval

2018: Frank P. Harvey, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Dalhousie University

2016-2017: Thy Phu, Associate Professor, Western University

2015-2016: Richard Albert, Associate Professor, Boston College

2014-2015: Graeme Auld, Associate Professor, Carleton University

2013-2014: Aaron Dhir, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, Visiting Professor of Law (The Global Justice Program)

2012-2013: Karolyn Smardz-Frost, Harriet Tubman Institute, York University, Sr. Lecturer, History and African American Studies (Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance and Abolition)

2011-2012: Dean Irvine, Department of English, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Visiting Professor, English and Comparative Literature

2009-2010: Christian Leuprecht, Department of Political Science and Economics, Royal Military College of Canada, Visiting Assistant Professor; Political Science, Economics (International Affairs Council)

2008-2009: Nomi Lazar, Collegiate Assistant Professor and harper-Schmidt Fellow, social Science Collegiate Division, University of Chicago, Visiting Assistant Professor, Political Science (International Affairs Council)

2007-2008: John Varty, Department of History, Magill University, Lecturer, History (International Affairs Council)

2006-2007: Gerald Baier, Department of Political Science, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Visiting Asst. Professor, Political Science and International Affairs (International Affairs Council)

2005 Spring: Maxwell Cameron, Department of Political Science, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Visiting Professor, Political Science (Latin American Studies)

2004-2005: Nicole Neatby, Saint Mary’s University, Halifax, Visiting Assistant Professor, History 

2003 Fall:  Gerald Friesen, Department of History, University of Manitoba, Visiting Professor, History

2002 Fall: Robert Barsky, Department of English, University of Western Ontario, Visiting Associate Professor, Comparative Literature and Film Studies (European Studies)

2002 Fall: Michael Kral, University of Windsor, Anthropology

2001 Fall: Brigitte Shim, Principal, Shim Sutclife Architects, Architecture 

2000-2001: Christopher Bracken, University of Alberta, Visiting Assistant Professor, English

2000 Spring: Regna Darnell, Department of Anthropology, University of Western Ontario, Visiting Professor, Anthropology

1998 Fall: Christopher Armstrong, Visiting Professor, History

1998 Spring:  Abraham Rotstein, University of Toronto, Visiting Professor, Economics and History

1997 Fall: Ramsay Cook, York University, Visiting Professor, History